Barefoot Contessa: Holy Chicken

This roast chicken recipe is so good, I have to call it holy.  It comes from Ina Garten over at the Food Network.  The chicken is tasty and moist, and the vegetables are delicious.  I have been scared to cook with fennel, but it gave the chicken great flavor so I’ve converted and relinquished all judgment of the oddly-shaped vegetable.  I served the chicken and vegetables with some baked red-skin potatoes (super cheap at the market these days) and pan gravy I made with the drippings.  It was delightful.

If you’ve never roasted a whole chicken, give it a try.  It’s surprisingly easy and economical.  If you make broth with the innards and some scrap vegetables, you can really stretch this meal.  I used the broth I made from this chicken to make a big pot of risotto a day later.

Leave a Reply

