Pumpkins Galore

We recently inherited several pie pumpkins (they were left after a Halloween event), so I figured I’d roast them and have a year’s supply of pumpkin purée.  Pumpkin pancakes are one of my favorite foods, so I got excited at the prospect of having plenty of purée on hand.

Following the advice of Faith Durand at The Kitchn, I baked the pumpkins whole before splitting them open.  I always get a bit nervous about cutting open tough squash.  I typically feel like a trip to the emergency room is right around the corner.  I was amazed that I could fit seven whole ones in our oven.  Per Durand’s instructions, I baked them whole at 400ºF for 45 minutes.  After that bake time, they were soft enough to purée.  I didn’t have to roast them any longer.

I put most of the purée in the freezer, and I plan to pull on that supply for several months.  I’ve already made a batch of pumpkin bread (delicious), pumpkin bread stuffing (even more delicious), and pumpkin and sausage pasta.  It seems that the possibilities are endless…

Leave a Reply

