Whole Grain Chia Muffins

I recently adapted a muffin recipe to be completely whole grain and full of nutrient-packed chia seeds.  I also replaced brown sugar with honey to lower the amount of processed sugar in the recipe.  These have become a breakfast staple for me.  I love them with butter and a cup of black coffee.

They keep well in the refrigerator.  After making a dozen, I typically put six in the fridge and six in the freezer.  When I’ve gone through my fridge stash, I pull out the rest from the freezer.  This keeps me from trying to eat all the muffins before they go bad.

Whole Grain Chia Muffins

  • 1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/2 cup Brown Rice Flour
  • 1/4 cup Ground Flaxseed/flaxseed Meal
  • 1 cup Regular Oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup Chia Seeds
  • 1/2 cup Raisins
  • 1 cup Buttermilk
  • 1 whole Egg
  • 1 whole Banana, Peeled And Mashed With A Fork
  • 1/2 cup Applesauce
  • 1/4 cup Molasses
  • 1/2 cup Honey

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Thoroughly grease a 12-count muffin pan.

In a large bowl, combine flours, flaxseed meal, oats, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, chia seeds, and raisins. Stir together until combined.

In a separate bowl, mix together the buttermilk, egg, banana, applesauce, honey and molasses.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, stirring just until combined.

Transfer the batter into the muffin pan (about 1/4 cup for each muffin).  Bake for 18-20 minutes, or until deep golden brown.

